What is Octocon?

Octocon, the National Irish Science Fiction Convention, is a weekend celebration of our favourite stories from books, comics, TV, films and games; from science fiction, fantasy, horror and beyond; attracting artists, writers, film-makers and fans from across the human sphere of influence.

The first Octocon was held in 1990 with Terry Pratchett as our first Guest of Honour. Over the years, some of our guests of honour have included Anne McCaffrey, JG Jones, Tanith Lee, Mike Carey, George R.R. Martin, Gail Simone, Rhianna Pratchett, Pat Cadigan and Colleen Doran.

For one weekend in October, we gather together to talk about all the wonders we have read and watched over the year; to share our favorite moments from book, TV, comics and films; to delve into the unsung genres and curious concepts of speculative fiction; to take part in workshops, and listen to panel discussions and charming guest speakers; to see what ‘must haves’ are in the Trade Hall; to experience the fun which is Octocon.

Croke Park Stadium

Octocon 2020 and 2021 were both held online due to Covid-19, but we plan to return in-person at Croke Park on 15-16 October 2022.

Octo with programme book and badge

Octocon 2022 is a hybrid convention.

As such, in addition to our in-person activities, we will also feature: 

  • A Discord server for socializing 
  • Zoom for facilitating workshops, talks, and socializing for those who prefer it to Discord 
  • YouTube for live-streaming panels and YouTube for hosting recordings for replay 

As we do not expect all members to be familiar with all of these services, we have provided the following guides: 

Octocon 2022 Committee & Team

Chairperson – Raissa Perez @Sakura2miaka

Treasurer – Marguerite Smith @MargueriteS_IE

Secretary – Maire Brophy @MaireBrophy

Memberships – MaryBrigid Turner @m2bbookworm

On-site Operations – Ryan Coomber twitch.tv/ryanshiro

Virtual Operations – Faranae https://habitrpgbooklists.wordpress.com/

On-site Volunteer Manager – Filled (to be announced)

Virtual Volunteer Manager – Faranae https://habitrpgbooklists.wordpress.com/

Venue Liaison – James Bacon

Co-Head of Programme  – Catherine Sharp @CSharpWords

Co-Head of Programme – Paul Carroll @writeranonymous

Trade Liaison – Paul Carroll @writeranonymous

Guest Liaison – Paul Carroll @writeranonymous

On-site Guest Liaison – Coral Mallow @CoralMallow

Accessibility Officer – Kat Dodd @TheKatDodd

Sponsorship – Coral Mallow @CoralMallow

Graphic Artist – Eimear Kelly @E1m34r

Publications Officer – Amy O’Riordan @thecraftycailleach

Web Designer – Karina Steffens @KarinaSteffens

Web Admin – James Shields @lostcarpark

General Committee – Janet O’Sullivan @Sharrow_irl

Social Media Team (in alphabetical order) – Amy O’Riordan, Janet O’Sullivan, Karina Steffens

Assistant Treasurer / Finance Admin: Ali Mack @alimack_13

Octo RPG